Posts Tagged ‘Subirna Regatta’

Palaro Subiran Regatta ‘09

May 5th, 2009

It was a day for Carigaran-ons during the Palaro Subiran Regatta competition held April 29, 2009 at Cancabato Bay, Tacloban City.

Organized and staged by the Leyte provincial government and the Palaro socio-cultural committee chaired by PAGCOR vice-president Remedios ‘Matin’ Petilla, the Subiran Regatta was among the side events lined up for the Palarong Pambansa 2009.

Declared winner was Rodrigo Ariarte of Carigara, Leyte (sailboat # 25 carrying the sail painting entry of Mahaplag) who negotiated the 8-nautical mile (12.8 kms long) race route with a time of 2 hours and 26 minutes.

Coming in close with only a minute time difference was 2nd placer Mateo Arcosi (sailboat # 26), another Carigarag-on. Third placer was Crispo Somalinog (sailboat # 28) also of Carigara, who clocked in 5 minutes later at the Finish Line at Family Park, Magsaysay Blvd.

There was a total of 34 entries.

In the sail painting category, artist Domingo Flandez who did the Baybay sail won the top prize.

Second placer was Johnray Mabalod (Abuyog sail); third, Romulo Ramirez (Sta. Fe sail) and 4th was Donald Abrasaldo (Javier sail).

The regatta had two contest categories – the boat race and the sail painting competition.

Administrator News, Palaro Special Events , , ,